Updates‎ > ‎

Moorestown BOE Committees & Liaisons

posted Mar 25, 2015, 5:10 PM by Brandon Pugh   [ updated Mar 25, 2015, 5:11 PM ]
I was recently asked by a resident which Board of Education Members serve on a particular committee. I realized this information was not available online so I prepared an outline of the Board's committees/liaisons, and it is now available on the District Website.

For a full listing of the Board's committees/members on the MTPS Website Click Here, or refer to the outline below. 

Moorestown Board of Education
2015 Committee & Special Assignments Listing

The Moorestown Board of Education operates through a committee structure, which involves committees comprised of board members and administration.  Administrators conduct studies and make recommendations to the Board, acting in an advisory capacity. Committees are not authorized to take action on behalf of the Board. The Board’s standing committees are listed below, with a brief description and the current membership of each.
Budget and Finance: The committee is tasked with monitoring and reviewing district finances, developing budget proposals, reviewing both expenditures and revenues, and making recommendations to the Board on financial matters including revenue generation ideas.

  • Chair: Kathy Goldenberg; Members: Peter Palko, Caryn Shaw, Matt Simeone

Curriculum and Student Services: The committee is tasked with reviewing information related to district curriculum, including curricular standards, purchases, instruction, and academic offerings.

  • Chair: Sheryl Sawin; Members: Caryn Shaw, Matt Simeone, David Weinstein

Operations and Facilities: The committee is tasked with reviewing items related to facility usage, improvements/repairs, construction, energy usage, and other elements related to district operations.

  • Chair: Matthew Simeone; Members: Kathy Goldenberg, Albert Panzarella, Peter Palko

Policy and Governance: The committee is tasked with reviewing, updating, creating, and monitoring district policies and procedures, along with promoting measures for effective Board governance.

  • Chair: Brandon Pugh; Members: Ann Marie Reyher, Caryn Shaw, David Weinstein

Technology: The committee is tasked with reviewing technology usage in the district, purchases related to technology, curricular connections to technology, and leading the district’s future in terms of technology.

  • Chair: Peter Palko; Members: Kathy Goldenberg, Brandon Pugh, Sheryl Sawin

Residency: The committee meets on an as needed basis to review/hear cases in which a student may be in violation of the district’s residency policies.

  • Chair: Albert Panzarella; Members: Ann Marie Reyher, Sheryl Sawin, David Weinstein

The Moorestown Board of Education also has Board Members serve as liaisons to various school, community, and out of district committees/organizations. These committees and organizations are listed below, along with the board member(s) assigned to each.
Burlington County School Boards Association: Brandon Pugh, Ann Marie Reyher
Garden State Coalition of Schools: Kathy Goldenberg, Caryn Shaw
Health and Safety Committee: Brandon Pugh
Home and School Association: Kathy Goldenberg
Moorestown Education Foundation (MEF): Kathy Goldenberg, David Weinstein
MoorArts: Ann Marie Reyher
New Jersey School Boards Association (NJSBA): Brandon Pugh, Caryn Shaw
Partnership for Acceleration, Challenge, and Enrichment (PACE): Sheryl Sawin
Special Education Advocacy Council (SpEAC): Albert Panzarella
Township Recreation Advisory Council: Matt Simeone